Basic General Knowledge – Series 5

1) Who is known as the ‘saint of the gutters’?

a) B.R.Ambedkar

b) Mother Teresa

c) Mahatma Gandhi

d) Baba Amte

View Answer
Option – b)

ans: b

2)The title of ‘Sparrow is given to

a) Napoleon

b) Maj.Gen.Rajinder Singh

c) Sardar Patel

d) T.K.Krishnamachari

View Answer
Option – b)

3) Who was known as the ‘Father of Lok Sabha’?

a) Anantasayanam

b) Bashyam

c) Mavlankar

d) Zakir Hussain

View Answer
Option – c)

4)The first woman to become a Chief Minister of any State in India was

a) Nandini Satpathy

b) Dr.J. Jayalalitha

c) Sucheta Kripalani

d) Mayawati

View Answer
Option – c)

5)National Agriculture Cooperative Marketing Federation in Known as—





View Answer
Option – c)

6) India became a member of the United National in:

a) 1945

b) 1947

c) 1949

d) 1950

View Answer
Option – a)

7) The first Earth sumit was held at:

a) Buenos Aires

b) Rio de Janeiro

c) Dar-es-Salam

d) None of these

View Answer
Option – b)

8)  The headquarter of judges of the International Court is at:

a) Geneva

b) The Hague

c) Rome

d) Vienna

View Answer
Option – b)

9) ‘RAF’ is the abbreviated form of which of the following?

A) Ready Action Force

b) Rapid Action Force

c) Reverse Action Force

d) Repeat Action Force

View Answer
Option – b)

10) MODVAT is related to—

a) Sales tax

b) Wealth tax

c) Income tax

d) Excise Duty

View Answer
Option – d)

11) which one of the following citied is located on the bank of the Irrawady river ?

a) Bangkok

b) Hanoi

c) Manila

d) Yangon

View Answer
Option – d)

12) In which country is the active volcano Mount Merapi located ?

a) Philippines

b) Japan

c) Indonesia

d) Italy

View Answer
Option – c)

13) Which of the following noble gases is not found in the atmosphere ?

a) Argon

b) Krypton

c) Radon

d) Xenon

View Answer
Option – c)

14) What is the reason for white cement to be white ?

a) It does not contain carbon

b) It does not contain silicon

c) It does not contain iron

d) It does not contain calcium

View Answer
Option – c)

15) What is the number of the permanent members of the UN Security Council ?

a) Five

b) Six

c) Ten

d) Fifteen

View Answer
Option – a)